Surrey Teachers' Association

2023 STA Convention

 May 5, 2023
  Sullivan Heights Secondary, Surrey, BC

Get notified by email or text message when registration opens!

Keynote Speaker: Eden Robinson

Haisla/Heiltsuk author Eden Robinson’s collection of short stories, Traplines, won the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize and was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year in 1998.  Monkey Beach, her first novel, was shortlisted for both The Giller Prize and the Governor General’s Literary Award for fiction in 2000 and won the BC Book Prize’s Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize.  Her novel Son of a Trickster was shortlisted for The Giller Prize.  Trickster Drift, its sequel, won the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize. The final book in the Trickster series, Return of the Trickster, was published 2021.

The STA Convention committee is now accepting workshop proposals for the May 5, 2023 STA Convention.

We are offering excursions and both virtual and in-person workshops.

The Keynote and in-person workshops will be located at Sullivan Heights Secondary in Surrey.


in-person workshop proposal deadline - March 1, 2023

virtual workshop proposal deadline - March 31, 2023

Registration will be open April 1, 2023

The members of the convention committee this year are:

Vanessa Broadworth (Primary/Chair)
Marilyn Car (Primary)
Kevin Amboe (Primary)
Cheryl Corrick (Aboriginal)
Alison Hotti (Aboriginal)
Carolyn Sousa (Aboriginal)
Annie Ohana (Aboriginal)
Karen Moon (Secondary)
Nota Spencer (Secondary)
Jess Kyle (Intermediate)
Dana Neidig (Intermediate)
Laila Testini (Intermediate)
Katalin Toreky Paziuk (Intermediate)
Erin Coleman (Professional Development Officer)

We currently have space for five additional committee members (1 primary, 2 secondary, 1 intermediate, 1 excursions). If you are interested in joining the committee, please submit a CV to the Executive Committee for review. CV’s can be found on the STA website here:

If you have any questions, please email us at